Link Notes 9 Dec 2008

December 9, 2008

Ok I had a slow day at the office so to speak.  And I had a chance to review some live CD’s.  I down loaded the following:  The Puppy Linux 4.1, Fedora 10 Live CD, BSDanywere 4.4 and DSL (The current Stable version)

The test machine was my IBM T23 Laptop with 1GB ram and PCMIA wireless card. 

Puppy Linux went first, it was small fast, it had sea monkey on it.  I was able to do web kind of stuff.  I gave it to my wife and son who love the Microsoft products.  And they both could work well with it.  It looked simple my wife was really impressed that she clicked what she thought was a word icon and the word process came up.  She was also supprised to see the speed at which the single click called the different applications up.  She also enjoyed thep paint program but noted there is no card game like in windows.  With Puppy the wiresless card worked out of the box but the lights did not flash on the card.

DSL also loaded well and was fast but I could not get the network card to work the interphase was not as good.  DSL has always had a soft spot because of the clear screens and light weight requirements.  But I have always had my best luck with it on old lap tops.

BSD Anywere 4.04 a live cd of open BSD.  It had enlightenment.  It worked really well and was much faster than Fedora 10 in loading.  Enlightment was very pretty, slick and fast.  None of my wireless worked well.  But it looked to have compiz fusion like features on my 6 year old lap top.  Great looking live CD that looks like it would also work better on a desk top. 

Fedora 10 Live CD, took the longest of the live cds to load.  It had some nice backgrounds but was not as pretty as the BSD.  I could not get the networking to work like with Puppy linux.  It did not have spreadsheet applicaiton.  It was very basic looking almost ubuntu like.  It had very poor performance on my old laptop.

Leave a Reply

