Fedora 14 LXDE Review

November 16, 2010

I was traveling again.  I had heard from the linux outlaws and fedora weekly that Fedora 14 was alive and well.  So I downloaded the ISO at an internet cafe.  I had been having trouble with my Mint debian rolling release addition on my Asus 701 4G.   As it filled up and and I kept getting error messages.  I run Fedora 13 on an old IBM laptop in my basement which provides internet and basic information processing in my basement now.  It used to be my wives PC.  I found that unlike Debain Mint and before it Ubuntu 8.04 and 10.04 the power buttons did not work  It did not ask me what I wanted to do and the battery management was not user definable.  To Fedora’s credit the same issue happened when I tested Suse 11.3 with LXDE.  I am thinking that LXDE might not be suited to the laptop.  I also tried with Salix and the same issue except they had WICD and it did not want to get an IP address.  (All three Linux distros have instances on work servers and old desktops at work that are fine)  I find it very fast. All of the LXDE that I have tried.  But liked the Fedora 14 the best.  Very fast for sure going on the basement laptop.

 

One Response to “Fedora 14 LXDE Review”

  1. Tony Ciak said

    I have a 701 and I run Peppermint and sometimes peppermint ice. They both run well on the 701 (only one at a time) and
    seems to do media files better than linux mint on the 701.
    to try goto http://peppermintos.com/
    enjoy/ciak

Leave a Reply

